The payments are calculated at the end of the month based on the number of employees that you had on your Team page during that month (disregarding if they were active or not). If an employee record on that page existed only for the part of the month, the monthly charge for this employee will be prorated. Your account is billed monthly at the end of your billing period.
See also For how many users do I have to pay?

Did this answer your question?